No. 1 Story of the Year: Final Results of Inver Grove Heights Elections

Here are the final numbers from the Nov. 6 general election.

Follow Inver Grove Heights Patch on Twitter | Like us on Facebook | Sign up for our free newsletter

As the end of the year approaches, Patch recaps the biggest stories of 2012—both in terms of pageviews and impact on the Inver Grove Heights community. The original article posted on Nov. 7, 2012.

Other Story of the Year posts:
• No. 2 Story of the Year: Three Dead in Head-On Crash Involving School Bus and Passenger Vehicle

• No. 4 Story of the Year: County Attorney Seeks Maximum Sentence for Defendants in IGH Drug Bust
• No. 5 Story of the Year: Are You in Favor of a Gun Safety Program Inside City Limits?
• No. 6 Story of the Year: Former Simley Student Teacher Accused of Sending Naked Pic to Student
• No. 7 Story of the Year: ISD 199 Technology Levy Defeated
• No. 8 Story of the Year: Simley Student Writes One Act Play
• • No. 10 Story of the Year: Olsons' is the Greatest Love Story in Inver Grove Heights


ORIGINAL POST: Looking for Inver Grove Heights election results? You've come to the right place.

Below you will find up-to-the-minute election results for races in IGH, including Minnesota House, Minnesota Senate, city council and mayor. Patch will begin updating this page with numbers after the polls close at 8 p.m. on Tuesday.

REMINDER: This page contains local election results only. Click the following links for other results.

  • Dakota County Board of Commissioners & Soil and Water Conservation results.

For presidential election, senate race, congressional election and constitutional amendment results, please click here.

Local Government (with 100 percent of precincts reporting)

IGH Mayor

*—Denotes Incumbent

Name Total Votes Percentage *George Tourville 10655 68.2% Scott Cornelius 4882 31.2%

IGH City Council

Name Total Votes        Percentage       Tom Bartholomew 7278 30.5% Paul Hark 3884 16.3% Paul Mandell 5855 24.6% Jim Mueller 6665 28%

State House

House District 52B (Eagan, Mendota Heights, Inver Grove Heights)

Name Party Total Votes Percentage *Joe Atkins DFL 14493 66% Paul Tuschy R 7430 33.8%

State Senate

Senate District 52 (Eagan, Inver Grove Heights, South St. Paul, West St. Paul, Mendota Heights)



Total Votes


Jim Metzen

DFL 27149 62%

Dwight Rabuse

GOP 16542 37.7%


Looking for results from another town? To see local races from around Dakota County, such as school board, city council, and mayoral elections, you can go toPatch's Dakota County Election Hub or visit the Patch site of your choice:


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »